4 Letter Noob is getting a Makeover!

After 4 months of blogging, I think it’s time for a change…

 I’ve had a few complaints in the past about how the font size and color choices have made 4 Letter Noob difficult on the eyes and granted I couldn’t find a free replacement I liked, I’ll be upgrading to a premium theme within a few days. There might be a bit of downtime over the next few days as I’ll be moving 4 Letter Noob over to my dedicated server and setting it up to resolve on 4letternoob.com . The current subdomain – 4letternoob.wordpress.com will be redirected to 4letternoob.com once changes are finalized, so you won’t have to worry about remembering a new address, although I believe most of you get to 4 Letter Noob currently by typing in 4letternoob.com.

~ by Reece on March 21, 2008.

9 Responses to “4 Letter Noob is getting a Makeover!”

  1. Nice option Reece.
    Let me know if you need any help with it.
    I run over 20 wordpress sites and I’m aware of most problems you might find as well as usefull plugins, etc…

  2. Thanks Bruno 🙂

    I think I’m going to go with this one: http://mimbo.prothemedesign.com/ . I was tempted to go with Unique Blog Designs, however their lack of mentioning a price on their site has me somewhat worried about how much it might cost…

    I’m still a noob when it comes to all the useful plugins, blogging tools, etc and have been doing some research over the last few days to better understand what I need to implement in the near future. Problogging.net has been very helpful for me so far and I’ve gotten a few good suggestions from there that I’ll definitely be implementing shortly.

  3. It’s a nice looking one. Typically Unique designs can cost quite a lot. $500-$1000 – I suggest you get one template that is widget ready and fully compatible with WP 2.3.3 for security reasons.
    About plugins, it really depends on what you’re looking for, but I’d at least include:

    – Akismet for Spam Control
    – All in One Seo Pack
    – Sitemap Generator
    – Related Posts
    – Simple Tags

    You can e-mail me or PM Shenron at NP if you need a hand with those.

  4. Yeah I currently don’t like your site’s layout at all.
    You Should have white background, easier on the eyes.
    Your current font size is way too small.
    Your Logo is not very attractive at all im sorry, looks quite old fashion and the font needs to be different having a nice branded image people can remember.

  5. I greatly appreciate your honesty Dan 🙂

    The new blog will have a white background and a larger font size, that’s a guarantee.

  6. I disagree with everything that Dan said. Unless your 95 years old and can’t read smaller fonts, I would hate to see how his icons on his 640X480 desktop look. I like the black background, and it makes the white letters pop right off the page. White screens sometimes make your eyes bloodshot since everything is so bright.

    As far as the logo not being attractive. They didn’t make image editing software back in the 40’s and 50’s. I went over and looked at Dan’s logo and it would seem that my 7-year old son could put together a better logo than that one.

    Sorry about my rants Reece. I just think that your PR4 site shouldn’t get criticized by someone with a PRzero site.

  7. I don’t see why people don’t like your current layout. I personally like dark backgrounds. I guess some people just see some things differently. Only suggestion from me is I believe the logo could be better.

  8. Just my humble opinion here…

    I do a lot of internet marketing. I can have a certain product I am selling and test with different backgrounds and fonts to see which will sell better.

    If the white background site sells 3 products for every 100 visitors… then the black background site (with the same exact content, just different colors) will probably sell 1 to 1.5 products for every 100 visitors.

    Why?

    Because people have a hard time reading white on black. Plain and simple as that. And I ain’t no 95 yr. old either. 😀

    Your readership will most likely increase when you switch to a white background.

    Just my proven ( 😉 ) opinion.

    Ty Maier

  9. I’m not 95 yrs old either and I have a difficult time reading this blog. There is a reason why major websites like the NY Times, Yahoo, Google, etc don’t use small font on a black background 😉

    Reece you have some of the best quality content of all the domain blogs. I have no doubt your traffic/Alexa will increase once you implement the new designs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
